Dibakar Banerjee amongst ten to return awards


The FTII students versus Gajendra Chauhan spat seems to be growing only bigger. Though the students have withdrawn their strike and are back to attending their classes despite continuing with the agitation, many Bollywood filmmakers have jumped-in in support of these students and also against the central government’s inaction for ‘rising intolerance’. Ten filmmakers, including Dibakar Banerjee, have now returned their National Awards in protest and it is being said that some more names may come out in the near future to return theirs. Dibakar had received National Awards for ‘Khosla Ka Ghosla’ (2007) and ‘Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!’ (2009).​