dada saheb

Rasika Duggal, Ranvir Shorey win Big At Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation Awards 2019


The Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation Awards are known for its artistic and technical merit in the Indian film industry and denote a global recognition of excellence in cinematic achievements. The only award to be acknowledged by the Federation of Western India Cine Employees (FWICE), the awards are assessed by an eminent jury from the film fraternity. The awards, one of India’s highest as well as the most acclaimed award for the Indian film fraternity, is conferred upon dignitaries for their contribution to cinema and its universe. Every year, a committee comprising luminaries from the Indian film industry select the awardees who are honored at a prestigious award ceremony organized by the Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation.

The Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation Awards 2019 awarded dignitaries on their merit. Ravi Dubey received the Best Actor award while Ranvir Shorey received the Best Actor – Critics’ Choice award for Halkaa. The entire team of Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai including show leads, Mohsin Khan and Shivangi Joshi, also got multiple awards and accolades for the success of their hit TV show. Sushmita Sen received the Icon of Indian Cinema Award and filmmaker Anusha Srinivasan Iyer received the Best Writer-Director Award for the short film Saare Sapne Apne Hain. Rakhi Sawant, Digangana Suryavanshi, Sunil Grover, Yogmata Keiko Aikawa and Sandip Soparrkar among others were also honored and awarded on stage by the presenter dignitaries.

Ashfaque Khopekar and Babubhai Thiba, President and Sr. Vice President of the Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation averred, “We have a glorious history with previous awardees of the likes of Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Akshay Kumar, Hrithik Roshan, Sonam Kapoor, Shahid Kapoor, Manisha Koirala, Farida Jalal, Karanvir Bohra, Divya Dutta, Manjari Phadnis, Shilpa Shetty, Tamannah Bhatia, Sharman Joshi, Mukesh Khanna, Raveena Tandon, Shatrughan Sinha, Nushrat Bharucha, Manoj Bajpayee, Kamya Punjabi, Shreyas Talpade, Konkona Sen Sharma, Huma Qureshi, Rajkummar Rao, Tiger Shroff, Jackie Shroff, Prem Chopra, Jaya Prada, Karan Wahi and this year has just added on to that.”

Not just glamour, Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation’s awards are a notch above. This is the only award function where technicians, behind the limelight, are felicitated and voted for by the 28 affiliate associations of technicians. “Dadasaheb never thought of any technician to be beneath others,” added the Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation spokesperson. The event is curated by Saakshat Entertainment in association with Vardaan Films Motion Pictures Pvt. Ltd.