Vidya Ekta Oscar Committee

Vidya And Ekta Make New Academy Members List


Vidya Balan, Ekta Kapoor and Shobha Kapoor have been included in the 2021 New Academy Members’ list for Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, aka the Oscars. The prestigious show is scheduled to be held on March 27, 2022. While declaring the names, the Academy’s statement read, “It’s time to announce our new members! Meet the Class of 2021.” Vidya’s name is mentioned in the new list for ‘Tumhari Sulu’ and ‘Kahaani’ whereas Ekta falls under Producers for ‘Dream Girl’ and ‘Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai’. Her mother Shobha Kapoor gets a seat for ‘Udta Punjab’ and ‘The Dirty Picture’ in the same Producers category. Last year, it was Alia Bhatt and Hrithik Roshan, apart from designer Neeta Lulla, who were honoured with the same.